Emergency Guide

On this page:

In the event of a FIRE/POLICE/MEDICAL emergency, dial (716) 645-2222

For non-emergency hazardous material concerns, dial (716) 829-3301

UB Alert Text/Email Messages

Building Evacuation Procedures

The School of Public Health and Health Professions maintains office, classroom, and research space in several buildings on UB’s South Campus. The school’s Emergency Preparedness Team maintains each areas evacuation procedures. If you have questions about procedures for your area, please contact the Emergency Preparedness Team Member from your department.

Emergency Preparedness Team

The SPHHP’s Emergency Preparedness Team coordinates efforts to maintain a safe and secure learning and work environment. In collaboration with University Police Services and Fire and Life Safety, the team helps to prepare the school for emergency situations arising from fire, weather, violence or aggression, or any other emergency (including first response for physical or mental health emergencies). This preparation, a proactive one, provides advance planning for these emergency situations and includes ongoing evaluation of our procedures and resources.

Each unit or department is represented by a team member listed below: 

department
name
email
phone
General Coordination
Mike Redfern
redfern2@buffalo.edu
716-829-6706
Dean’s Office
Keith Conroy
krconroy@buffalo.edu
716-829-6762
Center for Health Research
Pamela Sturtz
pjsturtz@buffalo.edu
716-829-2374
Biostatistics
Gregory Wilding
gwilding@buffalo.edu
716-829-2594
Community Health & Health Behavior
Gregory Homish
ghomish@buffalo.edu
716-829-6959
Epidemiology & Environmental Health
Robin Baumeister
robinbau@buffalo.edu
716-829-5337
Exercise & Nutrition Sciences
David Hostler
dhostler@buffalo.edu
716-829-6795
Rehabilitation Science
Emily Luchterhand
erl2@buffalo.edu
716-829-2097

If you have questions about anything related to emergency preparation for your area, please reach out to one of the team, and they will liaison with the rest of the team. 

UB Human Resources Policies

UB Administration Services Gateway Policy Library includes a variety of documents related to emergency preparedness including discrimination and harassment, and domestic violence and the workplace, among many additional resources.

Faculty and Staff Safety Information

Student Safety Information