Our Students

Students share their journeys to the study of rehabilitation science and to UB.

On this page:

2023 Student Awards

Occupational Therapy Achievement Award

This award recognizes an OT student who has demonstrated consistent dedication and perseverance in the attainment of academic excellence. 

Heidi Keil

Alfred T. Caffiero Award

Friends and family of prominent physical therapist Alfred T. Caffiero established this scholarship in honor of his dedication to the profession. This award honors Doctor of Physical Therapy students during their second year of study. 

Joshua Gho, Gurjeena Jandu, Anastasia Nosova, Elliott Szabala 

Susan Bennett Scholarship

Dr. Susan E. Bennett was a celebrated member of the UB Physical Therapy program faculty for 22 years. Consistent with her passion for the profession of physical therapy and her commitment to training the next generation of therapists, an endowed scholarship was established in her name. 

Michael Loliger 

Kathleen M. Shaffer Award

A 1987 graduate of the UB Occupational Therapy Department baccalaureate program, the late Kathleen M. Shaffer is remembered as a skilled clinical educator, OT practitioner and mentor to students at Erie County Medical Center. This award to honor her memory is given to fifth-year academic students who have demonstrated high academic achievement and excellent clinical promise. 

Sara Gruniger, Alexis Matheney, Christine Ngo 

Linda Walters Award

This award recognizes a non-traditional OT student who successfully completes the OT program while managing many other roles and responsibilities. 

Monica McGuire

Nancie Greenman Founder’s Award

This award recognizes an OT student who has demonstrated outstanding performance and professional promise. 

Michaela McDaniels 

Stonegraber Scholarship

This scholarship, established in memory of the late Eleanor C. and David P. Stonegraber, supports advanced standing students in OT and PT. Mrs. Stonegraber was an occupational therapist in the Buffalo and Rochester areas, and director of occupational therapy at Rochester Psychiatric Center prior to her retirement in 1959. 

Occupational Therapy 

Tahrae Carpenter-Morris, Heidi Keil, XingHong Li, Christine Ngo, Nelisha Waas 

Physical Therapy 

Kimberly Crosier, Madeline Fournier, Shelby Hutton, Mengying Jiang, Alana Szewczyk 

Pi Theta Epsilon (PTE)

This society recognizes and encourages superior scholarship among students in professional entry-level programs. 

Morgan Arrowood, Isabel Atwood, Paula Colt, Maria Crane, Hannah Crittenden, Elena Daigneau, Cheyenne Felician, Taylor Giacopelli, Ciana Kaplan, Lanxin Lin, Grace Link, Madison Perrault, Trinity Ruckdaschel, Jenna Runge, Jessica Scheibel, Allie Stockwell, Josphine Villanueva, Samantha White 

2021 Student Awards

Occupational Therapy Students

Doctor of Physical Therapy Students

PhD Students