Faculty, Staff Recognized for Expertise

Mary Glenn.

Mary Glenn, assistant dean for community engagement, has been elected to the board of directors of the New York State Public Health Association (NYSPHA). Her term will run for three years. NYSPHA promotes and protects the public’s health in New York State through professional development, networking, advocacy and education. The organization specifically advocates for policies at the national, state, and regional levels that support equity in health status and an end to health disparities for all New Yorkers. As a board member, Glenn will help NYSPHA continue to grow and increase its state-wide impact.

Katarzyna Kordas,.

Kasia Kordas, PhD, associate professor of epidemiology and environmental health, was selected to the Research Committee of the Consortium of Universities for Global Health (CUGH), a role she will hold for two years. CUGH is a Washington, DC-based organization of more than 170 academic institutions and other organizations from around the world engaged in addressing global health challenges. CUGH supports academic institutions and partners to improve the wellbeing of people and the planet through education, research, service and advocacy. The Research Committee’s goal is to carve out avenues for expanding collaborative global health research and research training. It is dedicated to sharing, evaluating and advancing strategies that promote global health research.

Ryan Krzyzanowicz.

Ryan Krzyzanowicz, DAT, LAT, ATC, director of the Athletic Training program, was named to the National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA) Public Health Taskforce. NATA is the professional membership association for certified athletic trainers and others who support the athletic training profession, representing, engaging and fostering the growth and development of the profession and athletic trainers as unique health care providers. The organization’s Public Health Taskforce is made up of 10 people who hold three-year appointments. Among other goals, the task force aims to embed public health concepts and terminology throughout athletic training curricula and establish formal strategic public health partnerships and deepen those that exist.

Katia Noyes, PhD, MPH.

Katia Noyes, PhD, MPH, professor and director, Division of Health Services Policy and Practice, was selected to as a member of the New York State Cancer Consortium Steering Committee. The New York State Cancer Consortium is a voluntary network of more than 200 people and organizations that collaborate to address the cancer burden in New York State. Members are from the public and private sectors and have missions aligned with reducing cancer incidence and mortality. The organization’s Steering Committee meets throughout the year to review consortium updates and plan upcoming meetings and events.

Patricia Ohtake, PT, PhD, associate professor of physical therapy University at Buffalo School of Public Health and Health Professions.

Patricia Ohtake, PhD, PT, vice president for interprofessional education (IPE), was elected as a 2021 honorary inductee by Gamma Lambda, SPHHP’s chapter of the Delta Omega Public Health Honorary Society, the only non public health-trained inductee in Gamma Lambda’s history.

Ohtake, who is also an associate professor in physical therapy, was recognized for her work in IPE and commitment to public health. Her advanced interprofessional education and collaborative practice in the field has spearheaded efforts to integrate interprofessional collaborative practice into public health education and practice, and integrated public health principles into IPCP training of UB health professions students. Members of the society--public health students, alumni and faculty—are inducted based on their commitment, leadership ability, and demonstrated excellence in public health education, research or service. Honorary members have made extraordinary contributions to the field; chapters can induct no more than one honorary member each year.

Sue Ann Sisto, PhD,.

Sue Ann Sisto, PhD, chair of the Department of Rehabilitation Science, was selected as the recipient of the 2021 American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine (ACRM) Distinguished Member Award. With more than 3,000 members in some 65 countries, ACRM works to improve the lives of disabled people, collaborating with hospitals, universities, professional and advocacy organizations, and rehabilitation professionals worldwide. The Distinguished Member Award was established in 1988 to honor those who have significantly contributed to the development and functioning of ACRM, demonstrated evidence of leadership skills, organizational abilities, and public service.

John Violanti, PhD.

John Violanti, PhD, research professor, Department of Epidemiology and Environmental Health, won the Alice Hamilton Award for Occupational Safety and Health in the Behavioral and Social Science category from the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)/Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The award recognizes the scientific excellence of NIOSH technical and instructional materials.

Violanti and his co-investigators won the award for their research study “Occupational injury and psychological distress among U.S. workers: the National Health Interview Survey, 2004-2016,” published in 2020. NIOSH is a research agency focused on the study of worker safety and health, and empowering employers and workers to create safe and healthy workplaces. The Hamilton Award is one of the organization’s Science and Service Awards, presented annually to recognize significant accomplishments in research, partnership, research translation, career achievements, and service at NIOSH.